Skip to content

Walking Dead Season 2 so far not so good…The Blogging Dead!

February 11, 2012

I can’t blindly follow a television show anymore, not with literally a thousand channels available.  There is just too much available for me to settle for mediocrity.  If a show airs a boring episode, I simply change the channel.  I feel no allegiance to any show that I watch.    If you bore me, you’re off of my Thursday night line-up.  Simple as that.

That said, I’ve been watching the Walking Dead Season 2, and to put it bluntly, it ain’t that good.  In fact it’s been a lot of nothing.  It’s not horrible, but it is nothing to write about (except for what I’m saying here of course).  There were a few (very few) jaw dropping moments, but they have been very few and so far between.

I’m a reader of the comic and a huge fan of the first season, but something has simply gone wrong.  It lost its mojo.

I think a lot of it has to do with momentum.  The first season really grabbed you by the throat and didn’t let go.  Everything was life or death for the entire group.  Sacrifices were constantly being made.  Season 2 thus far has been a lot of waiting around, talking about what they’re going to do next.  Arguing.  Whining. Looking for Sophia. Scouting.  A few more arguments.  It was very tedious.   The entire first 7 episodes could have fit into 2 1/2 hours, and it would have been a really exciting 2 1/2 hours, but they dragged it out to 7.

The comic is  slow too, but it works because you can read an issue in ten minutes.  It doesn’t take an hour to reach the cliffhanger.  Comics are a different medium all together and does not translate perfectly to television or film (If it did, then the Spirit would have been a good movie).  It takes finesse.  It takes creative license.  It takes a large group of people with a vision.  While a comic takes 3 or 4 people with complete control over their portion of the finished product.

Waiting the 7 episodes to see what happened to Sophia was not worth the wait.  It was fairly obvious what happened.  Why?  Because it had to happen.  Walking Dead  moves too slow to have child actors on it (watch out Carl….)  If it makes it to season 3 Carl will be shaving and Sophia would have been six feet tall.   Walt was written off Lost for the same reason.


I still have hope for the rest of the season.  I hope Michonne walks out of the woods with dog collared zombies.  I hope Tyreese shows up to shake things up.  I hope they stop talking and start doing.  Simply putting some zombies down at the end of the last episode wasn’t enough.  This show needs to push buttons.  It needs to be as desperate as the characters in it.  It needs to shock us every minute or at least every other minute.  It needs Rick to stop being the good guy, and start being the character we all grew to be weary of in the comic.  It seems that the Hollywood powers-that-be want a gleaming knight on horseback to lead this band of survivors, and, well, that ain’t Rick.  In fact it is none of these people, and THAT is what has made these stories so great.  Robert Kirkman needs to whip these writers into shape and get them to tell a zombie epic worthy of the source material he’s written.

I’ll watch tomorrow, and sure I’ll enjoy it.  How could I not?  It is zombies.  Will I have anything to say about it?  Only if its worth saying.  But I swear, if its boring I’m switching to the History Channel because there is always one more thing I can learn about WWII, sharks, the Bible, or Aliens.

Walking Dead Sunday Feb 12th @ 9PM

Watch Here! Walking Dead Ep. 8 Preview “Nebraska”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 10:04 pm

    I think youre right about Hollywood trying to make a knight out of Rick. I also think alot of the crazy things Rick did in the book will be done by Shane in the TV series. So far I like Shane alot more than Rick for that reason. In fact, come to think of it, he seems to be the only character in the whole show that is interesting, that has been changing throughout this ordeal. Ill watch to see what Shane does next, not Rick.

  2. February 11, 2012 10:25 pm

    Totally agree that some of the more disturbing actions will fall on Shane. The problem with that is that it takes away from Rick’s complexity. I like Daryl. Cool character and a true wildcard. I wonder what will go on in the tv version when they need to leave the prison? I’m really getting ahead of myself…

  3. JLF permalink
    February 12, 2012 11:26 am

    “The entire first 7 episodes could have fit into 2 1/2 hours, and it would have been a really exciting 2 1/2 hours, but they dragged it out to 7”

    You hit the nail on the head right there……..

    • February 12, 2012 9:14 pm

      Thanks for the agreement JLF. I wish I hadn’t hit it, but I guess I did… Hopefully it’ll pick up speed with tonight’s episode. Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks

  1. This Zombie Still Has A Pulse & UNDEAD Lawsuits! – The Blogging Dead! « Cinema Fantastica!

Leave a Reply

