Skip to content

I’m Sorry. I’ve Never Seen Raging Bull.

November 11, 2010

I'm sorry Bobby! Now stop hitting me!

I needed to back off zombies for a day. I tend to go all in sometimes.

How many hours of my life have I spent watching movies? Governments have toppled in less time. Wars have begun, and ended. Higher education degrees have been earned. It’s no secret that I love movies. The number of films I’ve rated on Netflix shocks me. Even with this insane amount of films which I’ve seen, there are a number of films I am embarrassed to admit I haven’t seen. Most of them are older films, 1945 or earlier, but that is no excuse. I’m a huge Cagney, Grant, Stewart, Ford, Wayne, Cooper and Hepburn fan. Chaplin films do make me laugh, and M freaks me out like a modern horror film should. I love to watch old B&W films and feel like I’m the first person that ever watched it. I like to attack entire eras of film and systematically watch my way through them.

Anyway, yesterday I was looking at the AFI 100 years 100 movies list. I’ve seen a lot of them, 84% to be exact, but not all. I just haven’t taken the initiative to see the remaining 14 on the list. I’d like to share them with you.

This list might shock and appall you. You might not like me anymore. The first one is pretty bad—

I’m sorry I didn’t see—

Raging Bull, 1980 – I know. I know. What business does a guy have writing about films if he never saw Raging Bull. I invite you all to throw any and all insult in my direction. In my defence, I recently bought it on Blu-ray and plan to watch it this weekend.

The Grapes of Wrath, 1940 – I read the book…

High Noon, 1952 – I do want to see this. I’ll make a point soon.

THE BEST YEARS OF OUR LIVES, 1946 – Post War small town America… I feel like I’ve seen it, but this is probably the mold that those came from.

THE PHILADELPHIA STORY,, 1940 – Great cast. I’ll watch it.

A Streetcar Named Desire 1951 – Kazan is a filmmaker that I want to go through the filmography of from start to finish.

INTOLERANCE, 1916 – Really, really old film. D.W. Griffith… Here is the IMDB Summary “The story of a poor young woman, separated by prejudice from her husband and baby, is interwoven with tales of intolerance from throughout history.” – I’ll check it out.

The Deer Hunter, 1978 – My wife is going to be angry at me for this one. I’ve probably seen it piecemeal, but never in one sitting.

DUCK SOUP, 1933 – I know I would love this. The Marx Bros. “Rufus T. Firefly is named president/dictator of bankrupt Freedonia and declares war on neighboring Sylvania over the love of wealthy Mrs. Teasdale.”

SULLIVAN’S TRAVELS, 1941 – I had no idea what this was about until just now. “A director of escapist films goes on the road as a hobo to learn about Life…which gives him a rude awakening.” It sounds great.

Cabaret, 1972 – I’ve seen the play.

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, 1966 – I am.

Sunrise, 1927 – “A married farmer falls under the spell of a slatternly woman from the city, who tries to convince him to drown his wife.” WTF?!

Bringing Up Baby, 1938 – Katharine Hepburn and Cary Grant, looks like a great film.

Swing Time, 1936 – It is really weird that I’ve never seen a Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers film.

Yankee Doodle Dandy, 1942 – A Cagney song and dance film.

So, if I see these 14 films, I’ll have seen everything on the AFI list. So then I’ll just need to find a new list.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 8:58 am

    Part of my “Before I Die” list involves me having watched all of the top 100 films. I haven’t seen nearly as many as you have, and I didn’t know where to start (sometimes I hate doing things linearly) so I put a movie name on pieces of paper and drew one from a hat. The first one I got was Sullivan’s Travels and I loved it. The female lead was a bit annoying, but it seems like that’s how they were in most movies from that time period, but don’t let that take away from anything that’s good about the film. (Ellie Andrews is a spoiled brat, but It Happened One Night is still my favorite movie of all time.) Have fun finishing up the list!

    • November 12, 2010 10:50 am

      I LOVE It Happened One Night. It is a perfect film. One of the most enjoyable two hours I’ve ever spent. When I was watching the film Monsters recently, I thought it was partially a remake of It Happened One Night, as it is about a reporter ferrying the paper’s owner’s daughter home to be married.

  2. November 14, 2010 12:39 am

    I’ll stand along with you for this one, I honestly haven’t seen any of those movies before and I even have never heard some of them

    • November 15, 2010 10:01 am

      Well, It’s really the completionist in me that NEEDS to see them. I’m a collector at heart and if I’m this close, I need to watch them. I’ll be watching Sunrise this week. It is on Turner Classics Tonight at 9pm. Thanks for reading Novroz!

  3. November 21, 2010 9:58 am

    I never been a good movie lover when it comes to classic. And never watch something because critics said it was good…I always rely on my feeling.
    I hope you can finally watch all those movies 🙂

    • November 22, 2010 7:20 am

      I generally enjoy the classics, or at least can find some reason for its acclaim in just bout every one of them, unless it is truly horrible. I just watched Sunrise over the weekend. I’m digesting it right now. I’ll probably write something about it. 13 to go!

Leave a Reply

