Skip to content

The Walking Dead, Ep. 2 – Does this show have the ‘Guts?’

November 9, 2010

The Walking Dead.  Ep. 2  ‘Guts’- A few quick thoughts on the episode. (I assume you’ve watched Episode 2 already)

Episode 2 continued with the ‘getting to know you’ growing pains every ensemble show goes through. A few character motivations were revealed, along with some vices,  personality traits, and even some clichés.

JUST TAKE IT!

Andrea was established as a person that respects authority and the rules that govern a civilized society when she questioned the morality of taking a necklace from a department store.  My problem with this moment is that fact that it needed a full scene devoted to it.  A show like this, where “Story Matters Here,” should trust the intelligence of the audience.  If she had silently considered it for a moment, then ultimately taken it, we would have been treated to a richer story moment.

While reading the comic I don’t recall disliking Shane this much. I remember him being more of a victim of zombie circumstances. In this incarnation, I see a man disturbingly similar to Elijah Wood‘s character in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. He is utilizing information given to him in confidence to get into his best friend’s wife’s pants. WTF Shane? Really?! You deserve everything that you have coming to you.

Last month, during NYCC, Frank Darabont referred to the source material/ Walking Dead comic as a wonderful road map for the show to follow. He continued to explain that nothing will stop them from getting off the road every once in a while so they can expand on the brilliant world that Robert Kirkman created. He does want to surprise those of us that have read the comics.

An example of getting off the road is Merle Dixon, drug addicted racist played brilliantly by Michael Rooker. Merle is a wonderful wild card of a new character created for the show. He provides a Yang to Rick’s Yin right away. Let’s look at the science of creating a television character’s name, because, well, I found it annoyingly obvious to give the racist the last name of Dixon.

Merle "Mason" Dixon

The Walking Dead takes Place in the South—

The guy’s name is Dixon—

“The Mason–Dixon Line symbolizes a cultural boundary between the Northeastern United States and the Southern United States” – from wiki

The character named Dixon is a racist named for the imaginary line that divides the northern and southern United States, who collectively fought a civil war over slavery.

I feel like I’ve followed a trail of bread crumbs that led to a bag that used to have bread in it.

The suspenseful set-ups of various story lines are taking form. Andrea seems to have warmed up to Rick. Shane has warmed up to Lori. Carl thinks his Dad is dead. Merle is last seen in a tight spot. Where was that helicopter going? How much gas is in Glenn’s car? Zombies are everywhere.

This episode was an interlude.  It was good, but not great.  I’m not going anywhere. I’m with this show to the end.  Like I said at the beginning, this was a growing pains episode.  We all go through them.  See you next week for more zombies!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. apryl permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:25 am

    “I feel like I’ve followed a trail of bread crumbs that led to a bag that used to have bread in it.” Haha!

    We were also left knowing that Rick is (unknowingly) on his way to reunite with Lori and Carl!

    • November 9, 2010 9:51 am

      Correct, and that is one of the things that I love about this show and Darabont’s horror in general. As a horror writer and director, he consistently chooses suspense over shock.

  2. November 9, 2010 1:14 pm

    As you said good but not great, which is slightly disappointing given how great the premiere was. Nevertheless, this was to be expected. Looking forward to the third episode!

    • November 9, 2010 1:44 pm

      The premiere was a little too good. Now I want the same level of AWESOME with each episode. Episode 4 should be great. Kirkman is writing it. Thanks for the read Castor! (And I need to tell you that your profile pic/ gravitar image is very cool!)

  3. paul permalink
    November 9, 2010 2:54 pm

    I think the necklace scene with Andrea had more to do with Rick than Andrea. He is the one to suggest that laws of modern society no longer matter when he tells her to just take the necklace, which is interesting because he is the one in still in a uniform. I think it hints at his tendency to make his own rules, or just adhere solely to the ones he agrees with.

    • November 9, 2010 3:00 pm

      I agree, but think that there was more to be learned about Andrea at that point, because we’ve been with Rick since the beginning. And, Rick had already established his willingness to bend the rules by handing guns out from the Sheriff’s Station armory.

  4. November 9, 2010 5:44 pm

    I’m not sure this series will ever be run in my country 😦
    You made me wish that I had a blog when The X Files was aired in TV, I’d to write each episode of the X Files in my blog

    • November 9, 2010 9:23 pm

      Oddly, my wife and I just started watching the X-Files from the beginning… strange. I’m sure you can watch it online though. Itunes has posted it. Thanks for stopping by Novroz!

  5. November 10, 2010 10:09 am

    I have the DVD 🙂 I have watched it twice on TV and once in DVD…I can always write it anytime I want but the feeling is not the same as writing it the 1st I see it…like you did now

  6. November 10, 2010 1:06 pm

    First of all: “Hi” and great review. Secondly, I have to say I disagree with you about Andrea and the necklace. If she has only had an internal debate, we wouldn’t have seen the interaction between her and Deputy Grimes. This was less a moral decision for her and more a relationship building moment for them. She ended up giving him the he’s-kind-of-cute look and he got to show some of his personality. I haven’t read the comic books (yes, I know. I suck) but I suspect these two have some sort of romance eventually. This was the necessary first hint of that for the audience.

    • November 10, 2010 1:56 pm

      Hi. Thanks for swinging by, and of course you don’t suck. I never read the Harry Potter books. I tell people “I don’t want to spoil the movies.” I see what you mean with the Andrea scene, but…. It just felt like the character was talking to herself, and Rick happened to be there. It felt contrived. Too much info in a few moments. Small talk didn’t really fit into the setting. Don’t get me wrong though. I love the show so far, I might have even changed the look of my whole blog to suit it—– Thanks again for the read. I enjoy your blog http://www.2brainsandatv.wordpress.com and will stop by regularly I’m sure!

      -Rob

      • November 10, 2010 4:54 pm

        Thanks for the link! And I linked you back on my latest “Walking Dead” post. See you during the next zombie apocalypse.

Leave a Reply

