Skip to content

I want to do a Web Comic (POLL)

November 2, 2010

I’m a little antsy lately.  Child on the way.  Got a new car.  Looking for a new house.  There is a lot going on, and I don’t want to lose sight of being creative.

I have a few scripts that I’ve written over the years, which are just gathering dust.  Not to toot my own horn, but I really enjoy them.  I think they deserve to be more than a ream of paper in my desk drawer.

Tell me what to do El Guapo

Where to start though, right? Movies take time and $$$$$$$.  And, I don’t have either to spare now.

I’d like to try to do a web comic.  I realize this takes time, but not as much money.  I’m not the best artist in the world, but have surprised myself on occasion.  I have a plethora of ideas that suit the medium.  I consider myself well-versed in comics being a reader of the last twenty-five some-odd years.

Anyway, I’ve narrowed the possibilities down to 4 contenders.  Help me choose which one to go with as my first Web comic.  Thanks for the help!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. PossiblyJeff permalink
    November 2, 2010 1:34 pm

    I also like the idea of Billy dying in a plane crash 32 years ago.

  2. November 2, 2010 2:46 pm

    Thanks PossiblyJeff! That is a distinct possibility right now. I like that story a lot. It is a fun Sci-fi character story in New York.

  3. November 2, 2010 6:41 pm

    I was torn between horror and scifi, but ended up choosing scifi because it looks promising.

    I have enough vampire, they are too many of them nowadays

    • November 3, 2010 8:03 am

      Thanks for the vote! I totally agree. I’m sick of current vampires as well. I wrote this one about ten years ago. There is no romance. No teenage angst. It is a monster story pure and simple.

    • November 3, 2010 3:59 pm

      I thought I would choose the horror one, but then I read the sci-fi option and was immediately taken by the outline of the story – I want to know the answer to the question! That’s definitely a good comic option for grabbing and keeping new readers 🙂

      I really want to do a web comic, but I have extremely mediocre drawing skills. I think I need to have a look at Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, which is gathering dust somewhere amidst the chaos of books in my house! Best of luck with your comic – Looking forward to seeing the finished product and to having a brand new web comic to read.

      • November 3, 2010 8:40 pm

        Thanks Róisín! The scifi story seems to be it, with horror as a close second.

      • November 4, 2010 4:33 am

        Have you decided what style of drawing you’ll use?

        My style tends to resemble an advanced study in stickmen 😉

      • November 4, 2010 8:11 am

        I’ve graduated to stickmen 102, and have embraced inaccurate anatomy.

        Seriously though, I’ll keep it as simple as possible. Black and white. Minimalist.

      • November 4, 2010 5:27 pm

        “I’ll keep it as simple as possible. Black and white. Minimalist” – I bet that’s what Harry Clarke said too. Ha.

      • November 4, 2010 8:30 pm

        Ha! But unfortunately I mean it. I have very limited skills when it comes to art. I’m just going to hope that the story shines through.

  4. November 3, 2010 10:22 am

    In that case, I love to read read your vampire story. Vampire and Love is just not the kind of book/movie I will read/watch

    • November 4, 2010 11:01 am

      The sci-fi seems to be in the lead, and I am going to go with what wins on this poll by the end of the week. Thanks again for the vote!

  5. November 9, 2010 11:05 am

    Voting is closed. Thank you everyone that took the time out to vote! I will now count the votes. Okay done. Out of 34 Votes, here is the tally!

    Vampires – 1 vote (OUCH you people are really sick of vampires aren’t you?)

    Fantasy story – 2 votes (ouch)

    Horror Story – 10 votes – okay

    Sci-Fi – 21 Votes! Yay!

    The Story of a man out of time on a Long Island Beach is what the public wants and that is what I am going to give them! I’m very excited about this and look forward to ressurecting a script.

    I’m sharpening my pencil, and I’ll soo you in the funny papers soon!

    Thanks again!

    -Rob

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I want to do a Web Comic (POLL) « Cinema Fantastica! -- Topsy.com
  2. Other People’s Writing Rules « Cinema Fantastica!

Leave a Reply

