Skip to content

NYCC 2010 – The Next Generation

October 20, 2010

 

 

Dad! You're so embarrassing!

 

What? Huh? What can that title possibly mean? Elementary my dear reader. My wife and I are expecting a bundle of joy/ future comic book fan mid April of next year.

We are over head over heels excited about this. It is a life changing event that is simultaneously happy, scary, exciting, overwhelming, and every other emotion one can feel all at once.

So—- you could say that Apryl and I had a lot on our minds as the NYCC approached this year? As I arrived at the show and walked the floor all I could really think about was how cool it will be to bring my son or daughter to this monster of a comic spectacle. The first day, I didn’t buy a thing. I wandered from exhibitor to exhibitor checking out movie, comic, TV and video game previews. I waited in one line with my brother to meet a living legend, Stan Lee.

A few days before the show I had plotted my Stan Lee Meeting. One could pay a ridiculous amount of money ($300.00!) to have a meet and greet with Stan Lee. I refused. Paying that sort of money to meet someone for a moment is just ridiculous. And, I have a future comic book geek that I need to be able to put a roof over the head of. On the other hand, I really wanted a comic for my child that was signed by Stan Lee to Baby Lee. Dammit! Life shouldn’t be this complicated! I was forced to resort to cyber-stalking. I assembled this list of Stan’s appearances and sent it to my attending friends:

—- Original Message—–

Subject: I’m going….

…..to stalk Stan Lee this weekend!

Friday, October 8
10:00 am – Lincoln center
1:30 pm – 2:30pm Signing at 1821 Comics table 2125
4:45 pm – 5:45 pm The Guardian Project with Stan Lee .
7:00pm – 9:00pm Gallery opening on Green Street – Already RSVP’d for 4 (Sure thing!)
Saturday, October 9

11:00 am – 12:00 pm MTV Geek with Stan Lee
1:15 pm – 2:15 pm Gold/Silver Age Living Legends Panel
2:00 PM – 2:30 pm Signing at the Marvel Booth 1843
2:30 pm – 3:30 pm Stan Lee @ BOOM! talking about his new Excelsior line of comics.
6:30 pm – 7:30 pm Yoshiki and Stan Lee. Apparently they will be announcing something big together.
8pm – bedtime MTV Geek Party
Sunday, October 10
10:45 am – 12:45 pm Signing – Free but ticketed, distributed from 7am outside doors to the Jacob Javits Center by Hall A
11:00 am – 11:30 am Stan Lee Foundation Writing Contest
1:15 pm – 2:15 pm Signing – Ticketed – for attendees of Friday’s Guardian panel. Private Room

With that bit of organization, I got Stan’s autograph on the first day at the 1821 booth, and for free. Yay! I wasn’t able to get it written out to the baby, as I wanted— My time spent with the Marvel Comics creator could be counted in micro-seconds before I was shuffled off like a suspicious individual standing next to the president— but it was great all the same.

This gave me the seed of a good idea.

There are a few belongings that I will never get rid of. I don’t even remember receiving them. One of them is my Louisville Slugger baseball bat. As I’m told, my uncle gave it to me the day I was born.

After my meeting with Stan I knew what I could give my child, which would be a unique gift from me– A Library of collected editions of my favorite comic-books, signed and inscribed by the creators to my child with words of encouragement. Of the hundreds of comic book creators that attended the show I chose and was able to acquire three such books with inscriptions, and here they are.

1. Starman Omnibus – Vol.1 : This book taught me that a superhero book didn’t have to be grim like the Watchmen or Dark Knight Returns to be memorable. This is the greatest reluctant hero story I’ve ever read in any medium. James Robinson respected the past, grounded his story in a solid present and affected comics to come in the future. He was genuinely flattered when I asked him to write something to my child. He was a great person to meet. I follow him now : http://twitter.com/jamesdrobinson

 

James Robinson's inscription made Apryl a little weepy.

 

 


Blogging dead / NYCC cross-over!!!!

 

2. The Walking Dead – Vol. 1: The basis for the upcoming AMC show. Robert Kirkman was so freaking cool. Just a nice guy. I have the feeling he has the sort of staying power in this industry that will eventually transform him into a sort of Stan Lee-like icon.

 

Robert Kirkman loved being a part of the Library, and told me that I was "going to be the best F#@kin' dad ever!"

 

(That beam of light just sort of fell across the words ‘the best’ as I took the picture.)

3. V for Vendetta – Brilliant Political driven vigilante in a scary near future setting. I don’t know how many hours of my life have been spent reading and re-reading this book.

 

David Lloyd gave advice that anyone can benefit from, and he drew an awesome picture of V!

 

 

And lastly, I got to talk to Tom Feister, the inker of Ex Machina, for a while on both Saturday and Sunday. He was a really solid guy—a good person. I don’t even know how, but it came out that my wife was expecting. So, I got baby advice at a comic con while people were waiting in line to meet and greet with creators. I probably wasn’t very popular. Although, I bet a few people took notes – Got to have baby for next year—– Creators are cooler with Dads…… I wish I had an Ex Machina collection on me to sign and inscribe, but alas, I didn’t. What I did have though was a few pieces of original art which I got him to sign for me. I’ll share them in a later post.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 1:34 pm

    That is so amazing!

  2. October 27, 2010 9:17 pm

    Congratulations!!!

    And what a brilliant gift for your child 😀
    A delightful read!

  3. October 28, 2010 8:52 am

    Enjoyed every minute of it, Al Pacino being one of the highlights! An incredibly “eventful” city, from the moment we left the apartment in the morning each day to the last minute of our return 🙂 I’m definitely going to visit again over the next few years!

    • October 28, 2010 1:10 pm

      Awesome! I’m glad you enjoyed. NYC is the type of place that you can tell a story about every single day you are there. Did you happen to see Pacino in Kennedy’s? He used to have an apartment right across the street. I saw him in there once or twice over the years.

  4. October 28, 2010 4:11 pm

    I went to see him in the Merchant of Venice – It was as good, if not better, as his performance in the film. We were in the second row, so it was a real treat.
    Saw a few other people we recognised at the market, in the airport and on the plane. An unexpected delight though was Michael Caine. We had nothing planned for one of the evenings and were thinking of going to the cinema by Time Square – Before we made our plans, we decided to do one google of a few places that were recommended in the guide book and in the end, we happened upon an evening with Michael Caine (ie: An interview format stage event). You probably are aware of the events at 92Y already, but just incase here is the link for the “Reel Pieces” event at 92Y – They have some great guests due over the coming weeks, like Robert Duvall, Steve Martin, Colin Firth. If I won the Lotto, I’d go straight over for each of them! Apparently Woody Allen was there not so long ago. Michael Caine was hilarious as per usual – I was waiting for him to do his “My name is Michael Caine”, but alas not this time 😀

    92Y: http://tinyurl.com/3xhx9go

    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMbw7BYDG5U)

    “NYC is the type of place that you can tell a story about every single day you are there” – That pretty much sums up why I loved it – Not a dull moment!

    • October 30, 2010 1:24 am

      All Very cool. Merchant must have been amazing. 92Y is a great venue. Always artsy and interesting. The NY Times does a series of “Times Talks” that are similar. NYC is fun for those sort of things. Very often there is so much going on that you only find out after the fact. I just found out that there is a Stanley Donen retrospective at Lincoln Center where he will introduce all of his films including my all time favorite Charade this week and a Documentary fest where Werner Herzog will be in attendance. If only I had the time and money to go to all of the screenings at both… Alas I’m told I should be employed… I’ll see Charade though. Glad to hear you had such a great time.

Leave a Reply

