Skip to content

New York Comic Con – Monsters, Cosplay, and Dead Robins

October 9, 2010

The term cosplay (pronounced kosupure in Japanese) is a contraction combining the words “costume” and “play” which accurately describes the hobby of having fun by dressing up as one’s favorite characters.

It is the morning of Day 2.  I’m leaving in an hour.  I’ll have more to say later or tomorrow.  I’ll just share pictures now.

What happens at NYCC, stays at NYCC....

Me with Captain America's Shield at the Marvel Booth

Robocop

Chris Claremont, Legendary X-men scribe


The Flash was really slow looking for something in his bag...

I found Waldo and his girlfriend Wenda!

The "Monsters" panel and Q and A

Gareth Edwards, Director of Monsters, addressing budget rumors.

Lastly.... The Joker dragging Robin the Boy Wonder's corpse through the show floor.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 6:59 pm

    the event looks interesting.

    I always love coming to cosplay event, I got quite good pictures everytime I go to one of this kind of events. Some example of my shot: http://t.co/sTg0GD6 .

    Unfortunately, nothing from marvel comic ever show up in cosplay event…Manga is more famous than US comic here, which also goes the same way for me,I like Manga more than any western comic (not just US comic). Even though I don’t read them, I’d love to get a good shot of those marvel characters.

    • October 9, 2010 10:22 pm

      Thanks Novroz! It was a lot of fun. I’ll put some more pics up later and some stories to go with them.

  2. October 10, 2010 12:30 pm

    Ahahaha love the last picture, that’s original now 🙂

    • October 10, 2010 10:55 pm

      The best spin on the Joker I’ve ever seen. And he was soooooo fast. I had to run after him to get that shot! Thanks for the pop over Castor!

  3. October 13, 2010 4:23 am

    The Flash and Spiderman are classics! The Joker is fantastic too. When the costumes are of good quality and/or clever, I could sit back and watch them all day! Can’t wait to see more of pictures from the event 🙂

    • October 14, 2010 10:27 am

      I loved the Spiderman moment. He saw me take the picture, then insisted that I take another where he posed, but I love the captured moments.

Leave a Reply

