Skip to content

You Should Be Watching: EUReKA

July 14, 2010

“Founder’s Day Season 4 Ep. 1” 7/9/10

You don't know Jack.

Eureka, actually it is called EUReKA, is one of those Sci-fi gems hidden away in the deep labyrinth that is Cable TV. With over 1500 channels, including HD repeats, how is a guy supposed to decide what to watch? Well, two years ago I caught one episode of EUReKA during a marathon, and was enthralled. It is a show perfectly suited to me, as I like to casually read about Tesla, Hawking, String Theory, etc. in-between my incessant watching of films and TV.

Eureka is a fictional town nestled away in the state of Oregon. It was founded in the 1940’s to act as a think-tank or “Haven for the world’s greatest thinkers to live and create” Or as the Sheriff of Eureka, Jack Carter, likes to add on “—Create Havok.”

Jack is the everyman. In the pilot episode he is a U.S. Marshall, hunting down a runaway suspect— his teenaged daughter. Driving through Eureka Jack crashed his car while witnessing a chronal anomaly in form of seeing his time displaced doppelgänger driving out of town. While waiting for the local rocket scientist/ Auto Repairman to fix his car, Jack assists the local authorities with a case of technology gone wild when a tachyon accelerator creates more chronal anomalies.

Through a quick series of events in the pilot, Jack finds himself as the new Sheriff of Eureka. Policing a town of off-the-chart geniuses has its disadvantages. The residents constantly point out Jack’s being of average intelligence, but what he does offer is a near preternatural

Biff re-wrote the entire universe for personal gain! What an awesome Villian!

ability to perceive natural relationships between events, people, and evidence that the greatest minds in Eureka overlook.

Going into Season 4 I was skeptical. Four seasons seemed a bit much for this story. I had read nothing about what was to come, and am so happy I didn’t. Season 4 has the potential to be a mind-bender with timeline corruption of Back to the Future II proportions. I’m not talking about the future story. I’m talking about the Universe according to Biff Tannen.

Eureka. Great show. Tell your friends.

“Founder’s Day” like most other episodes centers on a piece of technology gone wild, causing a number of main characters to travel back in time to the founding of Eureka. That is all I will give away about the plot. I will simply state that it was fun. I literally laughed out loud on two occasions, and “Sport” is something that I will probably call people for the next two or three days because of Dr. Trevor Grant, brilliantly played by James Callis AKA Gaius Baltar of Battlestar Gallactica. Eureka is a show that I highly recommend for those people looking for a fun yet intelligent show. It is like watching Lost but without the potential for arguments about what the island is. And I can talk about Lost – Click here to see

You can catch full episodes here : http://www.syfy.com/eureka/

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 1:57 pm

    I like the sound of this…I like it a lot!

    I’m still trying to work my way through Battlestar Galactica.

    Have you ever watched Carnivale? Definitely worth viewing.

    Looking forward to Boardwalk Empire, although I only have seven channels, so I won’t be able to watch it for a while 🙂

  2. July 22, 2010 6:58 am

    It is a really good show. I was watching, and really enjoying and just said “I need to write about this.” I lovvvvvvvvvve Carnivale. One of the best shows I’ve ever had the pleasure to watch. The intro of Nick Stahl’s character in the dust-bowl of America’s Steinbeckian past is something that everyone should see at one point. Someone I know is in Boardwalk Empire. It looks like it will be great.

  3. July 24, 2010 4:19 am

    Carnivale is so beautifully put together. My favourite was probably Brother Justin.

    I love Steve Buscemi, I can’t wait to see what he’ll be like with Pitt & co!

    Boardwalk and The Walking Dead are definitely two things that I’m happily anticipating this year.

    • July 24, 2010 9:05 am

      I think every actor in NJ got to audition for Boardwalk, which is pretty cool. It is to NJ what Law and Order has been to NYC for the last decade. You aren’t going to be able to make a film in NJ without seeing it on every single actor’s resume for years to come.

      Walking Dead is my next big obsession I’m sure. I’ve read the series, just picked up #75 and am ready to watch. I hope it lives up, and at the same time I hope that it strays from the source material enough so I can get a surprise or two.

      • July 24, 2010 6:23 pm

        I just watched the WD trailer from Comic-Con and realised that Andrew Lincoln is going to be playing Rick? Excellent news! He used to be great in This Life.

    • July 28, 2010 9:33 am

      speaking of walking dead……. http://wp.me/pYhFZ-4L How about Walking Dead Toys?

Leave a Reply

